Distinguished Members of the Regiment

Since Regimental activation, the Signal Regiment has had a program for recognizing people who have made a special contribution or who have distinguished themselves in service to the Regiment.

Under the provisions of Army Regulation 600-82 (The U.S. Army Regimental System), all U.S. Army Regiments are authorized to select appointees to the position of Distinguished Member of the Regiment. There are no limits on the number of Distinguished Members, and their tenure is permanent. The positions are designed to promote and enhance the history and traditions of the Regiment and foster cohesion among members of the Regiment.

Distinguished Members of the Regiment are prestigious or notable military or civilian persons who are recognized for their accomplishments. They must be current or former members of the Signal Corps Regiment. Nominees may be active, U.S. Army Reserve, Army National Guard or Signal Regiment Department of the Army civilians (active or retired status).

The designation as a Distinguished Member of the Regiment is largely ceremonial and serves to perpetuate the history and traditions of the Regiment, thereby enhancing unit morale and esprit.

The Honorary Colonel, Honorary Warrant Officer and Honorary Sergeant Major of the Regiment are distinguished, retired Army Signal Regiment special appointees who simultaneously become Distinguished Members of the Regiment when appointed to their honorary positions. These appointees serve a three-year tour and participate in command and award ceremonies, speaking engagements at dinings-in and other similar functions which help bridge the gap between the past and the present. When their honorary appointment term ends, they remain lifetime Distinguished Members.

Distinguished Members' biographies (chronological order):


COL (Ret.) Craig L. Zimmerman


LTC (Ret.) Edward Carnes

CSM (Ret.) McKinley Curtis, III

MG (Ret.) Gerd Grombacher

CW5 (Ret.) Bernard Milloy

MG (Ret.) Robert L. Nabors

MG (Ret.) Thomas A. Wessels

CW4 (Ret.) Jack C. Wilson


LTG (Ret.) Michael W. Ackerman

CSM (Ret.) Charles J. Johnson

LTG (Ret.) Vaughn O. Lang

CW5 Robert Pace

MG (Ret.) Alan B. Salisbury

Mr. John R. Turns


CW4 (Ret.) Curley A. Avant

MG (Ret.) Gerard P. Brohm

LTG (Ret.) David J. Kelley

Ms. Elizabeth J. Patten


LTG (Ret.) Peter M. Cuviello

MAJ (Ret.) Bobby Dunn

CW5 Bruce Gardner

CSM (Ret.) Larry Paylor

MG (Ret.) Eugene C. Renzi



CSM (Ret.) Ernest Chaney

MG (Ret.) John E. Hoover

CW5 (Ret.) Jack Hrubik

COL (Ret.) Jerry Van Patten


Mr. David Borland

CW4 (Ret.) James P. Eury

CSM (Ret.) Kermit D. Short

MG (Ret.) Charles G. Sutten Jr.


COL (Ret.) Robert L. Forrester

LTG (Ret.) Otto J. Guenther

MG (Ret.) David R. Gust


LTG (Ret.) Douglas D. Buchholz

Mr. Victor J. Ferlise

Dr. Michael L. Gentry

COL (Ret.) Robert S. Snead


LTG (Ret.) Robert E. Gray


LTG (Ret.) Thomas M.M. Rienzi

CSM (Ret.) Samuel M. Smith

Mr. John T. Holleran

SGM (Ret.) Clyde E. Hyde Jr.

COL (Ret.) C. Lee Vannes


LTG (Ret.) William J. Hilsman

COL (Ret.) Lamar H. Murphy Jr.

COL (Ret.) Scott Long

COL (Ret.) Gordon Johnston (Medal of Honor recipient)

MG Adolphus W. Greely (Medal of Honor recipient)

SGT Will Croft Barnes (Medal of Honor recipient)

CW4 (Ret.) Willie J. Battle

Dr. Paul J. Scheips


CSM (Ret.) Timothy M. McCarthy

LTG (Ret.) Charles R. Myer

CW4 (Ret.) Paul A. Zeisman

COL (Ret.) Earl J. Holliman

MG (Ret.) Charles E. Kilbourne Jr. (Medal of Honor recipient)

PVT Morgan D. Lane (Medal of Honor recipient)

Sen. Joseph Maxwell Cleland



LTG (Ret.) Bruce R. Harris

MW4 (Ret.) Joseph L. Durbin Jr.


LTG (Ret.) Alfred J. Mallette

Dr. Robert H. Rines

COL (Ret.) Tommy T. Osborne

CSM (Ret.) James K. Hussey Jr.

LTG (Ret.) Alonzo E. Short Jr.

LTG (Ret.) Peter A. Kind


LTG (Ret.) Robert J. Donahue


LTG (Ret.) Billy M. Thomas

LTG (Ret.) John T. Myers

COL (Ret.) Robert M. Reich

Mr. Billy R. Boyd


Mr. Vincent A. Abbatiello

LTG (Ret.) Thurman D. Rodgers


CSM (Ret.) Cecil B. Miles

COL (Ret.) Eddie D. Wheelock

COL (Ret.) Everett O. Greenwood

LTG (Ret.) Clarence E. McKnight

LTG (Ret.) Emmett Paige Jr.

CSM (Ret.) Aurelious A. Winter

CSM (Ret.) Randal R. Helton

MG (Ret.) Leo M. Childs

MG (Ret.) David E. White


CW4 (Ret.) James L. Donaldson




COL (Ret.) David S. Kyle

This is an offical U.S. Army Site |